Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Fancy meal

(7/9/21)

So, it turns out that two of my friends have a milestone birthday this month. My blip is of Shabnam's party that I went to on my own as G had to teach her two kids in Geneva. Shabnam's actual birthday is on the 7th, but Shiro's birthday is today. Shiro is in Sri Lanka now, so (sadly) it was only through Facebook that I was able to wish her.

Back to my evening, Shabnam's life has been unpredictable recently, so having a party was very last minute. She had a handful of her closest friends (who are currently in Dubai), so it was a privilege to be there. The dinner was a much grander affair than I anticipated. There were lots of black and gold decorations, and it was a proper sit-down meal. I couldn't resist including my chicken cooked with truffle oil and delicious chocolate cake in the collage. :))

Before that, it was a relatively quiet day. G had an early start, so drove herself to school, and we didn't meet up with my cousin. We wondered if Nara might start work today as Sunday's are one of his days, but we didn't hear from him, and I just presumed he was quarantining.

Geraldine had received a message yesterday informing us that our friend Ian (of Ian and Barbara) had passed away three weeks ago. We called and spoke with Barbara in the evening. It was a sad but good conversation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.