Grammy

By Grammy

Thumbelina’s Castle?

Sunny with periods of mild, then hot, then mild temps. Was hoping to sleep in but one of the grands FaceTimed me before 7:00 am to show me how much weight she has lost. After all my nagging about her bad eating habits, I had to be joyful and encouraging. I promised to tell more about our first day camping. After pulling the loaded camper up, down and around VA hills, the truck decided to quit running after we got to our camp site. When hubby tried to restart it, there was a transmission fluid indicator light. I think the transmission was just tired. We gave it 30 minutes and it started, albeit struggling. That was a long 30 minutes trying to decide who could tow it, what we would do for transportation, how we’d get home, etc. A bit later, I noticed the camper A/C was off. Hubby checked fuses, the owner’s troubleshooting guide, etc. No joy. About an hour later when we were praying, deciding whether to go home or stay with the forecasted high temps all week, he remembered hitting the power cable from the box when he was covering the camper tires. That’s all it was. We had checked the electricity coming from the box and it was working. We did not realize the lights were still getting power from the battery. Other than those two stresses, our site is wonderful. It’s secluded, shady, roomy, has trees spaced perfectly for our two hammocks and is next door to the bath house. We will definitely return. It’s site 13 and I guess folks are superstitious. Their loss, our gain. We found a delicious Mexican dinner only a few miles away so our first day ended on a very high note. Today, we explored the park after breakfast. There are over 100 sites, cabins and yurts. We have access to a lake and can rent various boats. The roads are relatively flat so I should be able to ride my bike. I took so many pictures at the lake but decided I’ve made too many collages lately. This tiny “castle” was in the forest along a trail we walked. It won out as cutest. Hubby will make kielbasa on the grill and I will nuke sides so dinner will be easy. The weather is perfect for sleeping with the windows open. Thanks for stopping by. Sure hope your week is a fun as ours should be. “My castle is very different from what I planned, but I would not alter it...”
Louisa May Alcott, Little Women

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.