Jeanettie6

By Jeanettie6

Dark Entries

The arctic weather continues, cold, sleet, rain and wind. I was tempted (only slightly) to stay in today, but didn't want to waste a day, so decided it was definitely a museum day.

I decided to go to the Museum of London in London Wall, as I hadn't been there for absolutely years! I tend to forget about it for some odd reason and visit the other many museums here. I had a good afternoon listening/reading about 'cheerful' things like the Black Death!

The door pictured above is from Newgate Prison c. 1780. It's Saturday evening history time...concentrate please...

In 1780 Newgate Prison was rebuilt after is destruction in the Gordon Riots. Behind it's monumental entrance doors, there were dark and dank prison cells occupied by prisoners awaiting trial, execution and deportation. Executions took place regularly in front of the prison, attracting large crowds. After witnessing one, Charles Dickens wrote that he felt like he was 'living in a city of devils'

I often feel like that too Charles!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.