Two Suns for the Price of One

It took a bit of persuasion but eventually my Merry Widows agreed to accompany me down to the beach this morning for a dip in the North Sea and one of them even donned her bathing costume in case the sight of me enjoying the waves encouraged her to ‘take a dook ’ too.

And so there we were, with the beach to ourselves prancing about in the waves. The shallows were warmish but at hip level bits of our anatomy became numb.
The overall effect for me was exhilarating - not so much for my ‘cozzied’ companion.

I should point out that the air temperature was in the high teens at 7am and the sea temperature was 11° so it was not too challenging to bare all and swim. It could be a very different challenge at Porty with a North wind.

Having had an early breakfast it almost seemed another day when we walked to Embleton for coffee at Dunstanburgh Hotel. Thus fortified with scones and the trimmings of jam and cream we plodded back through the golf course to the beach and home. The tide was so far out that we could almost have walked to Denmark and there was nobody in the sea. We felt oh so smug!

It was another hot, hot day, so hot in fact that it was a relief to sit indoors until wine o’clock time. We have been so lucky with the weather.
my extra is a version of Venus emerging from the sea!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.