Return of Summer

Today the sun appeared out of a heat haze and reminded me that I had brought no sun lotion,sunglasses or sunhat. I had however brought several layers of warm clothing and an anorak. It’s a gamble which season you dress for with limited luggage space.

I had a dawn walk along the beach marvelling at the silence away from the madding crowd. 0nly a few dogs and their owners were up and about- I almost had the whole beach to myself.

Back for breakfast and some down time before we all set off for Craster and the hope of having lunch at the much vaunted Jolly Fisherman. It was apparent as we walked that most of the holiday makers in the area had much the same idea so that without a reservation we had no chance. However we were smart enough to find a table at the nearby Shoreline Café and it came up trumps.

Our walk home was along the coast past Dunstanburgh Castle and finally the golf course with an ice cream at the van parked at the sand dunes. Can life get any better than licking an ice cream at the end of a hot walk?

My Merry companions have slunk off to ‘read’ in various rooms of the house. I am about to go and waken them for wine o’clock time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.