Wild Weather Swimmers

This blip doesn’t do justice to the swell and waves caused by the 29mph ESE wind and the wash from the ferry. It was definitely a morning for company in the water today. After the storm of wind and rain during the night, I had been expecting people to call off from our arranged dooking, but nobody did, so not wanting to be the one to chicken out, I walked to the slip in an interval of no rain, to find 3 other ladies water ready. 
To be honest I found it quite scary as the waves seemed to single me out for attention and swamp me completely. To compound the indignity, as soon as we got out to dress,  the rain returned with a vengeance and soaked our towels, robes and coats. It’s going to take a while to dry out and still the heavy rain showers continue.

After deciding that it was an afternoon of weather watching from the comfort of the flat, the sun appeared at some point and I went out to buy fruit, plums, strawberries and oranges as fresh as I could buy at home. I imagine for people as old as I, these fruits wouldn’t have been available on the islands in the 40s & 50s. 
Times have completely changed since I first came first to Shetland and then to Orkney over 60 years ago. One of my swimming companions today works from home for her job in Suffolk as does her partner. Her daughter works for the same firm but lives in Lancashire. The internet has the ability to completely change how you work and where you want to live.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.