Weather Depression

After another night of torrential rain, it looked as though it might be a better morning as the sun tried to struggle through the clouds on my walk to the slipway. The rain held off and as I bounced in the waves, I noticed a skein of geese flying overhead towards Kirkwall ; it may have been the same geese I saw later in a field outside Kirkwall busy feeding.

I was visiting an older friend who used to stay with us on her visits to Edinburgh as the Orkney Girl Guide Comissioner. As I left her house the drizzle started but stayed as that so there was no soaking today as I made my way home, although things still looked miserable with the cloud down to sea level and the windscreen wipers busy on the bus.

I am comfortably holed up this afternoon with my book, the internet and my knitting. I’m contemplating opening the bottle of cider cooling in the fridge and raising my glass to the seagulls wheeling about outside the window. They look very happy gliding on the wind- they must love this weather.

Not until I turned on the TV for news at 6pm did I hear the sad news that Queen Elizabeth had died at Balmoral during the afternoon.
 Operation Unicorn is now being put into action - that is, the protocol for events following  the death of a monarch in Scotland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.