I'm THE place to go

in Chudleigh ..................... but what am I?
Well the morning forecast did'nt materialise here in Chudders. , I had  a pallet to collect from The Ship Inn at 8am. I was 10mins early, Tom was'nt in the beer cellar, so as I was stopped on a narrow road, I swiftly loaded the pallet in the boot of my little Aygo, could'nt quite close the boot so placed my foot well mat between the pallet & the glass boot. I gave Tom a shout, but as I had managed to load up myself, I just say hello, thank you & goodbye. :-) Got the plot, looked across to Dartmoor, it did'nt look to bright so I cracked on, unloaded the pallet, then lifted the remaining potatoes, easier while the soil is dry. Richard & Shirley arrived they were going to try and get the homemade compost on the ground before the rain came. I picked runner beans, courgettes, Patty Pan squash, & more gherkins. The rain came, well a light sprinkle and that was it. Picked another bunch of sweet peas. Josie is coming for lunch, still not eating meat so I took 3 courgette & hazelnut burgers out of the freezer. Taste Brioche bun, hummus, griddled slice of Patty Pan topped with a veggie burger. Sorted!
Down to Mum's, she'd got the shopping list & bags ready ... A day early. :-(  I explained not today tomorrow, then headed off with Indie, hoping not to get wet. It was mild, I tied my waterproof around my waist, did'nt see a soul. Only needed my waterproof on the homeward stretch and then it was only mizzly stuff. Josie had sent me a text while I was walking. She's still a bit snuffly & coughing, should she come or reschedule. Hubby has to go for a PCR test next Tuesday before his hospital appointment for the US guided injections in his hands so I thought it best to reschedule. so when I got back to Mum's I decided to do her shop before having a coffee. A few empty shelves, no granulated sugar, no crisps other than weird flavours, limited fresh fruit. that's just the products I was looking for. Hey ho!! Not the end of the world. :-) A coffee & Danish with Mum. She's been watching the Tour of Britain cycle race every day, I have to say the coverage of the Devon sector was brilliant. I have no idea what they are actually doing, speed trial, pelaton etc. I just like to see the scenery they're cycling through, like Mum. She could'nt remember where they were racing yesterday. :-( A pretty pair of small birds arrived on Mum's whirlygig washing line, looking for small spiders & insects. I think they were Chiffchaffs, such sweet little birds, they flew back over the hedge into the willow trees. We've never spotted them in the garden before.
Back home, time for lunch. No post, no bus pass :-(  A quick domestic as I had paid for the shopping with my debit card instead of cash ... I headed off to my happy place. You've guessed it, the allotment. I went via the skate park & pump track. Yep! The blip is of the pump track, & what a popular addition to Chudleigh. It's only been open a short while but kids & parents are using the track, only one pre school little boy was riding around on his bicycle this afternoon. I got there before school ended thank goodness. There was teenager whizzing around on the skateboard track, I asked if he'd mind me taking some photos, which I did but settled for this pic. I left there and wandered up through the cemetery, there are plenty of headstones at jaunty angles so I snapped a few, then spotted blackberries in the hedge, picked them plus hawthorn & rowan berries. They'll make a nice jelly. Over the gate & into the allotment site. The ground was still bone dry, no rain to speak of although the South Hams had flooding earlier in the day. We could have done with 24hours rain, as we seemed to have missed it I gave the crops a feed and good soaking.
Walked back home, watched the remainder of The Chase, then made chilli con carne for dinner, non chilli con carne for me. When I enquired if hubby's chilli was hot & spicy, he said no. I should have added a bucketful of spice. :-D :-D :-D
Some international football match on tv Poland v England so I headed upstairs and watched a lovely 30minute programme on the BBC about peat cutting on the Isle of Lewis.
We've had a drop of rain but it's stopped again. Forecast is'nt great for tomorrow, a pretty sky tonight so we'll wait and see.
22.00hrs Tesco's are just making a delivery somewhere in the cul-de-sac.

Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting Wide Wednesday #A different angle. There are some many angles and beautiful curves to this pump track I can see why it's so popular with the kids on bicycles & scooters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.