Erigeron glaucus

produces lots of seed heads, but rarely sets seed in my garden, which is a pity as I'm sure it would sell well in my charity plant sale. I'm not a fan myself, it was in the garden when we arrived so it's here to stay. Other plants have self seeded amongst the paviers, this afternoon I teased out 2 more Juncus spiralis, & 2 Escallonia, then scattered the dry viola seed heads around, they are popping up everywhere, so pretty. There are many foxglove seedlings & 2 Eryngium, possibly too big to tease out so might wait until we have some rain.
Breakfast, then jam production. The fruit juice collected overnight, I boiled it up with the sugar BUT my largest pan was'nt really big enough, a 10minute rolling boil, was actually a 5 minute, ops! it's going to boil over, that might do, so although I poured the jelly into jars I had a feeling it would'nt set.
Whizzed the vacuum around downstairs, dusted, then back outside, doing a bit of dead heading while waiting for Jude ringing to tell me she had arrived in Chudleigh on the bus. She arrived about 10.45 so I walked up to meet her then we sampled coffee & cake at the Hummingbird cafe in the town. We had a really good chat, sat in the glorious sunshine, before heading off to the allotment. We had only just arrived when Alan approached us .. "Do you like marrow?" .. I had one at home so Jude was the lucky recipient. I picked runner beans, lifted some spuds, plus a bunch of sweet peas for her take home, plus she picked some Nasturtium flowers & leaves, plus Borage flowers which she also eats. Then it was time to head back up to town for Jude to get her bus back to Newton Abbot. A very pleasurable few hours spent with my best friend from school.
Time for lunch, followed by gardening, then decided I'd better boil the Bramble jelly once more. It set!! That's 11lb of Bramble jelly made now. I must buy labels or make some myself.

Thanks to Jill Orme JDO for hosting Tiny Tuesday this week

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.