Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flying...

Soon these dazzling little flyers will be gone for the winter, returning sometime late next April.  And when they've gone, the yard will seem a quieter place, a bit lonelier perhaps.  So, it had to be a hummie today and this one posed perfectly for me, hovering about 10 feet in front of where I was sitting.  A young female if my guess is correct, and looking in good shape for the migration.

I went out on a milkweed quest this morning to feed my remaining monarch caterpillars.  This late in the season, the common milkweed is in pretty sad shape so I have to really scour the patches to find something that will be nutritious.  

After my milkweed expedition, I headed out for a paddle.  I didn't stay out very long, about an hour, because the wind was really blowing me all over the place.  Still, it was nice to be out.  And when I got home, there were two lovely monarchs ready to be released.  I set them on their way in memory of my friend Lynn and a friend of hers (and partner of a good friend of mine).  

I've got an appointment with my general doctor Friday to talk to him about some niggling issues.  I'm continuing to have more pain than I'd like in my hands/wrists from the drugs I'm taking to prevent a cancer recurrence.  Maybe he can recommend something that I've not already tried.  And I I'm continuing to struggle with insomnia and an overall lack of energy.  Which could also be side effects of the drug, or just a response to the last 18 months.  And, as long as I'm there, I'll find out if he recommends anything for my trip to Columbia.  Ironically, right now the numbers in Columbia are headed down whereas the numbers in the US continue to head up.  Our country has one of the highest rates of Covid in the world - how crazy is that?  

Okay, taking a deep breath.  And going to have a piece of dark choco with almonds.  

Be safe, people.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.