Gap in the Fence

Basil and I returned to Kingsgate housing estate in Shepshed late this afternoon to see if we could find anyone to quiz about the estate. Just one couple and their young children. I guess most other residents were on their way home from work.

I wanted to know about the motorway noise. The M1 is very close. As you can see from the photo, it's probably about 20-30m from the noise abatement fence at the perimeter. The extra photo shows just how close the houses come.

The young man told me that he only really notices it at night when otherwise it would be quiet. I found the noise intrusive enough at 5.30 pm in the afternoon.

As we patrolled the perimeter, we discovered a gate open in the fence. You can see a lorry passing by. Two men came through the gate while I was there, by which time I'd picked up the distinct odour of sewage. One of the men explained that there had been a backup of sewage from the outlet on the estate leading to the main sewage outfall for Shepshed. Workers had had to go through the gate because the main manhole was on the motorway side of the fence.

On the estate side, I got a peek at one of the open manholes. Floaters, as Len would call them, visible on the surface of grey water.

Fortunately for the residents, the immediate problem had been resolved but the workers would have to return tomorrow. to clean things up.

I hope it does rain tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.