tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Leaving by the town drain

A moorhen is not a bird I see very often but I stopped to look at the boundary brook between Fishgard and Goodwick, where it meets the sea. The water's clean and I imagine this pipe carries surface runoff into the brook in wet weather.

Moorhens are shy cautious birds and she  seemed to be using the drain pipe as a bolt hole before making her way upstream to the marshy area above.


I was reminded of the legendary Dr Spooner, an Oxford academic renowned for jumbling the initial letters of words, who supposedly uttered the following threat:

"You have hissed all my mystery lectures, and were caught fighting a liar in the quad. Having tasted two worms, you will leave by the next town drain."

 (You have missed all my history lectures, and were caught lighting a fire in the quad. Having wasted two terms, you will leave by the next down train)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.