Almost ready for Saturday

The Penistone Show is going ahead this year and I failed to write it down in my diary, so I’d double booked myself and as I’d paid for. Print making workshop at West Yorkshire Print, I had to give back-word on photographing at the show.  So this will be the nearest I get this year.  

I’ve been a bit pre-occupied with Memorial Cards and thinking about Jan and Ann so my brain hasn’t functioned too well recently.  I had a phone call from the printers to say that the cards are ready for collection, so Mike will fetch them today.  I hope they are ok! 

 So I had to do a bit of thinking and preparation for Saturdays workshop which is about using paper stencils with screen prints.  My thoughts had been that I would base my activities on images I collected in Redcar of the Tuned-in building, but I when it came to decision time I decided that the images were too graphic and that they’d lend themselves to a photographic screen print. So I began to think about images that were softer and would lend themselves to a mix of soft background and cut paper shapes on the final layer (s), so for inspiration on colour I began to look back at some of the gelliprints I’d done in the past and for shape I began to explore some photographic images that I’d done previously.  I noticed circles were beginning to emerge, but also L shapes that came out of multiple exposure images taken at Rievaulx Abbey.  I just need to get some templates done now and I’m struggling with Photoshop on my new laptop, which doesn’t seem to be working in the way I’m used to.  I’ll have another go this morning but then I might need to enlist help.

I’m wrestling with the dilemma of digital versus analogue printing at the moment.  I’m pleased with the way my photographic work is developing and trying to work out what traditional print processes give me that digital printing can’t, other than a lot of mess and t he possibility of much going wrong.  After an enjoyable afternoon with friends a few weeks ago and my own first attempts at printing from my solar plates I’ve done nothing more.  The inks are still on the table in the conservatory staring in an accusatory fashion at me.

P.s I did my first Lateral Flow test yesterday, which came out negative, thank goodness.  I’d been aware of a few symptoms that I’d put down to an allergy and I thought I’d check it out.  I haven’t felt unwell and I didn't expect a positive result.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.