Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

2448. Ark Royal Photo Album

My dear friend Tony, served on the Ark Royal between 1970 and 1972 and was a horn player in the Royal Marines Band.  He sadly lost his special photo album presented to him all those years ago but was able to secure a copy of all of the photos from a fellow ex-Royal Marine.  When they moved house before Christmas, the CD went missing and whilst I was there last weekend, they found it again.  Cue lots of absolute joy that it had been found.  So, I copied the CD on to their desktop and burned two further disks of the precious photos.  I brought one home with me and have set about re-printing them and mounting them in a new album.  I have resized and cropped them all and I am currently working through printing them all and putting them into a new album.  There are 43 photos in total and it's taking rather a long time to print them all out so I'm doing it over a few days.  They're hoping to come down here in a couple of week's time so it needs to be all done by them.  I'm almost half way through doing it so not many more to do.

The photos are astonishing and such an amazing set of an historical piece of Royal Navy hardware!  I particularly liked this one taken in New York.....

Good news for them today as the saga of their leaky gas cooker has been resolved and the cowboy gas fitter they almost paid £300 to for substandard work has also been sorted at no cost to them.  Now just need to get that tablet sorted and everything I set out to help them with is done for now...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.