Autumn on the way

Sorry - a collage again as I couldn’t resist the signs of autumn sneaking in. Morning spent waiting for neighbours to pack for breakaways as I am looking after spare keys in case any alarms go off.  Both were late setting off so rather threw my schedule out!  :-). Had a lovely long walk around St Ives Estate -it was unbelievably quiet.  Many signs of autumn coming in now, although a lot of the golden leaves are remnants of last year’s fall - it feels far too early!  I noticed the old wooden carved chair by the wooden toadstools had finally disintegrated and had been mended with new wood. Not as grand, but at least it is still there. I sat on a bench nearby to drink my takeaway coffee, and leaves were falling down around me.  Chestnut pods looking lovely and green, and areas with golden carpets of leaves.  Various types of fungi in evidence, and several butterflies.  The swans seemed to be having a mass preening session, and they contrasted with a rather tatty looking young magpie!  I had gone out hoping to beat the forecast rain, but as I got up there the grey skies disappeared and the sun came through - bonus!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.