pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Two tragedies and a Tedhead

“There are only two tragedies in life: not getting what you want—and getting it.” (Oscar Wilde)

I love my children dearly, but having been under the weather towards the back end of this week and the return to travelling about catching up with me, I must confess that I was looking forward to the school drop-off and having some time to myself. Naturally, the instant that was accomplished and I walked away from school, I immediately started missing them and gulped down the uncomfortable feelings that come with the knowledge that I won’t be seeing them this weekend.

A busy day helped me move past it and before long it was almost 4pm and for the first time in 18 years of doing this job, I walked up to Romney’s for a most enjoyable client meeting over a beer (pictured). The man across the table from me is in popular parlance “crushing it”. 38 years old, loving wife, three children (who joined us at the tail end of the meeting) and CEO of a group which is rapidly expanding under his leadership. Class act and a really nice chap too.

There were tears before bedtime though and it is entirely the fault of the Ted Lasso team (for it is an ensemble piece) and the latest episode - featuring a pivotal father/son moment – proudly sticks two fingers up to toxic masculinity. I think it is the mark of a great show, which in the same breath can take you from tears of laughter to tears of…..I dunno, solidarity? The key moments are in the details, such as the mid-hug unfurling of a clenched fist on the back of another into an open hand, unashamedly softening the encounter. 

Sublime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.