Flight 93, on 9/11

Today is one of those days that I wish I was a word-smith.   But since I am not, I will  try my best......
    3 years ago, I took a trip that took me close to the Flight 93 National Memorial Park.   Ir was so new that parts of the park were incomplete.
    The first vision I had of the park was the incomplete Chimes Tower.   It was as tall and finished as the tower was going to be.  but the chimes that were going to ring in the constant wind were in the testing phase.    I did hear the ones hung ring in the wind, symbolic of all the voices on the plane that cried out and fought back against the terrorists.  Those voices will forever be heard, in wind, not silenced by death, but ringing loud and clear for America and Freedom.
      I parked my car and walked to a side walk.  I was struck by numbers written into the concrete when it was poured.  I learned later that the sidewalk commemorated the flight path in longitude,   latitude  and altitude from GPS..... as the plane came in to crash.  When you turned to the east, you could the crash site, marked by the 17 ton sandstone boulder that marked the exact spot of impact.
The museum that is there has many artifacts from plane,  personal objects from the  passengers, identified by family members.  Photos, comments, papers, so many other items.     Drove down to the crash site,  walked the wall of names, touched the bells that were  rung today, ran my fingers over the names engraved in the granite, the concrete,  I looked through the gates that are only opened on 9/11 anniversary for the families of the passengers, to walk up to the stone.
        I can't describe the emotion I felt as I sat there, and pondered everything that had been on that day, what it meant to this country, it's citizens, the heroism, the patriotism, the pride, the grateful attitude.
     I had purchased a Flight 93 sweat shirt.  It is one of my favorite pieces of clothing and every time I put it on, I remember.......       I would like to go back one day to see how the Park has been finished.    It's a place that is so special and sacred, I hope that every American goes there and feels the emotion, the honor, the selflessness, the best of our country and it's citizens who sacrifice everything to make this a safer place to live, raise children, and be proud of our great country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.