Family meal out in Melrose

All but one of my immediate family (my not-so-little sister's partner) met for lunch at Marmions in Melrose today. Mr hazelh, Caitlin and I travelled to Tweedbank by train, then walked into town to the restaurant. The others arrived by car - from Hexham, Holy Island, and Marske via Darlington and Berwick.

We managed a rather chaotic selfie afterwards. Here we all are, left to right:

hazelh, my niece Ailish's boyfriend Danny, my nephew Paddy, Mummy hazelh in the middle middle, Mr hazelh in the middle at the front, my middle sister's husband, my middle sister, my niece Ailish, Paddy's girlfriend Caitlin, and my not-so-little sister.

The get-together marked Mummy hazelh's birthday at the weekend, and my brother-in-law's forthcoming (significant) birthday.

It was also an opportunity for some family car shuffling:
- My middle sister recently acquired a new second-hand car for my not-so-little sister from a seller in the south, so has driven it north to meet its new owner.
- My not-so-little sister is having a couple of nights in a hotel with Mummy hazelh and transported her there after our lunch today in her 'new' car.
- The arrangement above has left my middle sister without a car while she spends a few days on Holy Island, so she is currently borrowing Mummy hazelh's Volvo.
- Meanwhile my not-so-little sister has donated her (very) old Polo to Ailish and her boyfriend to use in London (although its first trip with its new owners is to Glasgow for the rest of the week).

Paddy's car is immune from all these shenanigans and staying with Paddy (and Mr hazelh and I don't own a car).

I will next see my middle sister and her husband on Wednesday. They are meeting my not-so-little sister in Berwick for a Mummy hazelh handover. Then they are bringing Mummy hazelh to Edinburgh to stay with us for a few days, and to visit their son (Paddy) in Portobello.

Exercise today: walking (11,321 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.