Jam tarts

The hazelh kitchen was busy today. I made two varieties of soup (roast root vegetable; leek and courgette), a salmon quiche, jam tarts, and a toffee sauce to go with the last of Mummy hazelh's birthday cake from Friday. I also prepared hors d'oeuvres and vegetables for a wee dinner party with Katharine and Jack this evening.

Around midday fellow blipper Sallymair contacted me to say that she was coming on a mission at my end of town and wondered whether I would be at home about an hour later to accept a donation for my back garden. Sallymair's visit was timed perfectly. She arrived just a few minutes after the jam tarts came out of the oven, so with Mr hazelh we enjoyed a wee tea party around our big kitchen table. As well as a blackcurrant bush, Sallymair also brought us some runner beans (eaten later at dinner), and a jar of homemade bramble and apple jelly. It looks we did rather well out of the jam tart - home grown produce exchange :-)

I had hoped to do some gardening today, but decided that it was more important to take some proper exercise. So mid-afternoon I cycled along my 11 mile route 'inland' to Silverknowes and home again along the Cramond foreshore and the new cycle path in Granton.

This evening Katharine, Jack and I enjoyed a jolly meal together, then watched (serious) David Attenborough on the BBC and (very silly) Norsemen on Netflix.

Exercise today: 11 mile bike ride.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.