Not moaning, just saying!

Some proper rain this morning, but it went off later and after lunch I took my daughter down to the Oban Computer Centre as she had a problem with her laptop. 

While it was being looked at I took myself off for a short walk - not the most exciting part of town, but there's a photograph everywhere. 

Here I must make it very clear that I'm not being grumpy - I'm simply stating facts! Other people can feel grumpy about my Blip if they want to! Anyway, I walked to the end of the road and crossed over to the car park opposite Tesco's.  This car park backs on to the Black Lynn, Oban's watercourse. The Black Lynn and its banks are stuffed full of Japanese knotweed and Himalayan Balsam. Some years ago  'Keep Oban Beautiful' arranged to have the knotweed injected and organised many sessions of pulling up the balsam before it seeded. All went well until we were told that we shouldn't work in the knotweed areas in case we took bits of it out on our feet, even though we were careful to clean our boots before leaving. So it's now a very ugly part of Oban.

The car park kerbs and slabs are full of weeds, the surrounding shrub beds are overgrown and untended, the signpost pointing towards some of Oban's attractions is bent and illegible and the map of Oban under the rotting wooden canopy is covered in stickers and graffiti.

On my way back to the computer shop I passed this rusting shed with a sign to confirm that all in Oban is well!  (Forgot to put it on - have now!)

Now I must go and slice some runner beans! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.