Veg day

The sun was struggling to come out today - we didn't see much of it. Mrs M and I did the round trip of veggie beds this morning, prior to going over to Mull for a week tomorrow afternoon.

I can hardly believe that it was 12 days ago that we picked 2lbs of beans from our bed in the Walled Garden at Glencruitten - I thought we'd been more recently. We should have done as today we picked 12.5lbs, many of them quite large. Most of them will go to Hope Kitchen tomorrow morning as we can't keep them in good nick for very long.  We'll take some with us to Mull and have another pick as soon as we get back. A few more peas, but they're near the end.

We drove down Glen Lonan to the polytunnels, but Cruachan's peak was swathed in cloud today. We picked a few more small tomatoes and several courgettes. I saw four small Patti Pan squashes, but they won't be ready for a while. 

I see that someone on site is planning to do something with apples. I wondered if maybe cider was on the menu!

My favourite yellow 'red hot poker' has just come out over the last couple of days, just in time for us to be going away. I think that will be my Blip for tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.