Stunner of an Afternoon

I spent much of the day with my mom. After all of our machinations around moving her, I think we've come to the conclusion that she's actually declining and that a move would be dreadful for her. So there's that. She slept most of the time we were there, but I did make her a half a grilled cheese sandwich for lunch (with tomato) and we were able to go for a walk around the grounds. Well, I pushed, she rode ;-)

I spent the rest of the afternoon with a friend who's volunteering for the botanical garden...and then her husband made us Grougeres (Cheese Puffs) and poured us a glass of rose, and the rest of the afternoon was delightfully spent. I went over to her house to teach her how to use our Google Drive folder, which we spent at least 15 minutes doing. I ate so many of his delightful cheese puffs that I am not hungry for dinner at all. I came away with a large bagful of cucumbers (to make pickles with), a very long Tromboncino Zucchini (I'll need to be clever) and a handful of figs. And of course a full belly. Not a bad way to spend the afternoon.

A quick wander in the garden found the sunflowers just glowing in the sun. We're expecting rain this weekend, so I think that the sunflowers may have to be cut....some are so tall they're leaning over with the weight of the heads...I suspect the rain will do them in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.