Life through the lens...

By ValC

In Mum’s footsteps.

Another beautiful sunny day.
Off on a quest this morning to find the spot where my mum was photographed when on holiday in Penzance in 1930.
( see my Blip 8th August)
I was sure I recognised the gates, and sure enough we found them at Wherry Town. A small settlement between Penzance and Newlyn.
The wooden bridge over the little Lariggan River, which my mum sat on, was washed away in the Ash Wednesday storm of 1962.
Most of the buildings of the village, along with nearly one mile of seafront were all destroyed.
So this photo of me is taken on the replacement. Not quite as picturesque.

I had a nice walk round the gardens, which were opened in 1914 to commemorate the tercentenary of the charter of the borough of Penzance.
Then walked along the sea front to Newlyn and back while Mr C sat on a bench overlooking Mounts Bay and enjoying the beautiful weather.

The extra collage is the view from where he was sitting, along with the commemorative plaque on the garden gates, and the Fisherman Statue built to honour the dead fishermen of Newlyn.

Our day finished off with an enjoyable meal at Amelies overlooking Porthleven harbour.
Drove home with a beautiful sunset in front of us.
Now settling down to watch the new All Creatures Great and Small.

Another enjoyable day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.