Combi31

By Combi31

Totally Boared

Great day today - first barbecue of the year .. a bit later than last year's but I will go no farther as I know we don't all share the same skies ...

So, out again this afternoon at my usual haunt .. I found where a green woodpecker has its nest and where a pair of red kites are nesting.

The kites were trying out a nest from last year, while I was on the other side of the lake - I guess it was Madame who was sitting in the nest, trying it out while Monsieur was chasing a big buzzard away that took a little too much interest in the goings on.

Subsequently, both kites set out about the buzzard then they flew off - hunting I imagine.
So, I went back round the other side of the lake and sat at the bottom of the said tree - awaiting the return of the kites - I waited for an hour and a half and nothing.

Later, I heard the sound of a snipe, near the river opposite the lake and decided to investigate, crossing a section of high grasses and a line of trees with huge clumps of brambles.

I noticed some wild boar tracks, which are not uncommon around here, but these were fresh - you remember that I am an Apache scout ...
Now, I know that wild boar are usually pretty harmless, as long as they don't have their young with them.
With this in mind, I skirted around the clump of brambles; leaving an exit, in case there were boar in the brambles - which there were.

Suddenly I heard a loud roar, not 2 meters form me, and a crashing as a large wild boar ran out of the brambles, right past me.

I tried to get some shots, but most were spoilt by bad focus as the boar ran through the trees.

This is the best of a bad lot, I'm posting it as I was so pleased at seeing this fantastic animal - which I have never seen at close quarters before.

Ah, yes, I forgot ... The French name for the animal is Sanglier - the young are called "Le marcassin" - The female "Une laie".
Hope your Sunday was good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.