Saarbrücken

I was walking around Saarbrücken for 4 hours and this is the only photo I took. The building in the background is the Saarbrücker Schloss, the castle.
I spent 25 € for a new blouse (on sale, special offer) and that was it. People were sitting in street cafés left and right everywhere, but I didn't even have a cup of coffee. I'm not a city girl.

Saarbrücken is the capitol of the Saarland, Germany's smallest area state of the 16 federal states (we have 3 city states). The river is the Saar, and Saarbrücken translates Saarbridges.
The Saarland belonged to France for a few years. Here's more about that. France is just around the corner when you are in Saarbrücken (not literally, really; check the map).

It only takes me 30 minutes to go there by train (much longer to  my states capitol (Mainz), but I very rarely visit Saarbrücken because my job ticket doesn't cover it.
But - this week and next week I can travel all over Germany with my job ticket (they are trying to get people back in public transportation) and so I took the chance. Took a fast train from Kaiserslautern right after work, 40 minutes travel time.

If I feel like it I might go to more places this weekend or next. Be sure I will let you know...

19:50; 18°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.