Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Shire

Familiar location, unfamiliar teams (for me, at any rate).

At some point during Friday I realised that there were two Scottish Cup First Round matches taking place nearby. Cumbernauld Colts were at home to Buckie Thistle, while East Stirlingshire were playing host to Fort William, a team once dubbed the worst team in Britain after a run of 73 successive defeats a few years ago.

In either case it was a team from the Lowland League against a team from the Highland League and in the end I decided to make my way along to the Falkirk Stadium to watch 'The Shire'.

It was an enjoyable enough evening out. Fort William weren't actually as poor as I had anticipated, but The Shire proved to be the better side and won the match 3-0.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.