Sussing me out

Early this morning I went to Warkworth to get some supplies. The pleasant young woman at the checkout asked me about the liquorice tea, and whether it is any good. Explained that it is for S and she thinks its great, but I don't know as I don't drink it. She also asked me what I was going to do today. 

Despite the bright sunshine at the time, I told her "nothing much", and "probably staying inside but for my run". And that is what has happened. I did the Guardian prize cryptic (won't know if I've made any mistakes until next week). I then went to check on how I'd got on with last week's prize puzzle, and found that I had left it only about a third done. So I went back to it, and was able to finish it, and checking confirmed. 

After that I returned to reading the 5th book in the Bruno series. And after lunch I went down to Southend at an hour and a half after low tide, and found that the first of the godwits (Kuaka) have indeed arrived from Alaska; there were between 20 and 30 out on the Snells Beach mudflats feeding voraciously. It wasn't possible to get close to them, as they were constantly alerted by gulls and oystercatchers shrieking and squawking and then flying away (the latter) or "attacking" me (the former). The Kuaka would then relocate. This one allowed enough time for a photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.