Friday

Back Blip 5. 

I got back in the car this morning and headed south. Two hours later I had covered the 79 miles to Jedburgh. The less said about all that, the better. It was not rush hour - I left at 11am. Anyway… I do not “head south” often.

Eventually I reached tonight’s destination. Newcastle. More about that tomorrow. 

Ironically, I had considered Newcastle for one of my Change of Scene escapes in August but was put off the awful road “connection”, the trains probably being rammed full of maskless Covidiots, and the “just let ‘em die” public health attitude to the pandemic in that part of the country - an attitude enthusiastically embraced by most locals, for whatever reason. 

I spent an hour or so in Jedburgh and even paid (Older Persons’ cheap deal) to get in to visit the Abbey (Extra). The Blip is of one of the murals in the visitor centre. Caption failure.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.