Talking Heads

Yes, they have talking heads in shinty broadcasting as well. Blipped.

Today's main event - for me anyway - was the Camanachd Cup Final in Kingussie. It is shinty's showcase event for the season. Kingussie got to the final and won it (3-1) over Lovat. 

It was close, and 1-1 going into the last quarter. The turning point was a spectacular save by the Kingussie goalie, after which Kingussie scored their second almost immediately. 

It was pretty wild at times, and the referee did well to keep the red card in his pocket.  

The minute's silence at the start was well observed apart from the noise of beer cans being opened. No silly songs were forced on us, with the organisers probably keen to avoid any embarrassment. 

On my way north I stopped at Bruar and hiked up to the Falls. A good way to stretch my legs. I came across some canyoners - second Extra. I am sure someone died there quite recently. 

The other Extra is Ruthven Barracks where I had my picnic lunch before the game. It is a relic from the 1715 rebellion, being built to house English troops stationed there to suppress the locals.

Tonight I am in Archiestown, on Speyside near Aberlour. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.