A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Puzzle

Spotted these on the pavement on my walk to church this morning. It puzzled me a little and I decided if they were still there on my return I would blip them.

I think it may have been a squirrel that has removed this horse chestnut casing from the treasured conker within though there is no sign of the conker having been eaten. Maybe it hurried off with it to store it for later. It could also have been a child uncovering the precious conker. 
The puzzle is more the why than the who. There are no nearby horse chestnut trees although the pavement isn’t very far from the village park. The large tree that overhangs the park wall hasn’t produced conkers for several years, it sadly looks diseased. There may well be more h c trees of course though I haven't investigated. A squirrel or a child could have brought it from there but why stop at the entrance to some ones drive to open it? It’s just a little intrigue.

Rain like stair rods first thing but lovely sunshine came through whilst we were in church and it was sunny and warm again when I came out. Almost forgot I’d taken a raincoat and umbrella.  The beds in the centre of the village were looking good when I past them on the way home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.