Ingleman

By Ingleman

"What A Wonderful World"

Today is my blessed mother's birthday.

Or it would be, if she had been blessed with another nine years of life. 

I went to her graveside today to wish her happy birthday. On her headstone is the inscription
What A Wonderful World. 

I spoke to her and wished she was still here. But none of us live for ever. 

I became acutely aware of other headstones, other familiar names. So many people who would like to have had a few more moments in the world. 

ADC, a friend, died at the wheel of his car outside his own house. Valentines day 2013

BJM, a young soldier, murdered in Afghanistan, aged just 25  and now laid to rest next to my mum. They would both be proud. 

LF, died age 58, also near to mum

ML, also near to mum, aged just 18.

HM, a good friend and fellow bell ringer at the church where she is laid to rest. She died from cancer. She worked as a nurse for many years. On a cancer ward. 

VB, died aged 66. My wife's sister. 

RD died aged 56. My mum's second husband. 

And many other names of people from the village. Inevitable really, like a tax bill or a sale at DFS, no avoiding it, is there. 

The begonias are from our garden. My wife's creation. 

Mum loved her flowers..... 

Her favourite song... 
What A Wonderful World.. 

Ohh Yeah.... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.