Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Jam Session at Riffs Bar

We were invited to go and see our granddaughter performing in a concert with various others at a place called Riffs Bar, so off we went straight after church, not quite sure what we were going to see and hear.

I looked up the meaning of the word "riff" and it is "a select tune or melody of a guitar tab in a song, like in AC/DC's "Back in Black" - the little tune that gets stuck in your head."

Charlotte, our grand-daughter, is a natural and enthusiastic drummer and we were excited that she would be performing - however, we had to wait until the very end of the concert to hear her, mainly because she is left handed and the drums had to be moved around for that reason - something I was not aware had to be done, so even at my age, I am still learning!

Lots of drummers, who are pupils of Holmes Music School performed, and it is true to say that it was very loud, and very dark in the venue, which was also quite small so the music seemed even louder! It certainly made us realise that we are not as young as we were but I can't remember ever playing music that loud. There were lots of guitarists too, playing electric and acoustic guitars - and very competent they were too.

For us, though, the star of the show was Charlotte - and my biggest regret is that the phone on my camera and even my Panasonic were not "up to the job" in such a dim setting, so the shots I did manage to get are not that good. I did take a short video, however, so at least we have a record of Charlotte playing - she obviously enjoyed it and so did we.

It was still -2 when we left, but so far there has been no more snow in Wiltshire. Have a great week fellow blippers.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.