Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Contemporary Cup Cake Blues No. 15

So work was spinning in my head and I was awake at 5.00 am and up at 5.30 this morning. The house was a mess. I drank copious amounts of tea whilst tidying up and listening to a programme about contradictions on radio four. They came out with the famous Fitzgerald quote ("The test of a first-rate intelligence is the ability to hold two opposing ideas in mind at the same time and still retain the ability to function"). Is it intelligence or is it hypocrisy? There was a lot of other interesting stuff including a philosopher who talked about the strange feeling you get observing your own life sometimes, something I remember as a lonely child. Best 'though was an Islamic priest looking after the pastoral needs of young Muslim soldiers in the British army in Afghanistan. That's what you call holding opposites in tension.

I started work at 7am and finished at 9pm, losing about four hours to showering, eating and shopping so I reckon about ten hours of today went to the NHS. Somewhere along the line Scout the cat stole and ate Top Gun's cup cake. I tried to replace it but you can't buy cup cakes; it's all muffins around here.

I had an idle thought about reality whilst taking the old tumble drier to the local recycling centre. Not sure why or what prompted it. But I decided that we needed less museums and something new called viewseums that would help you see the world as it is, now, the stark reality in the form of digital and real displays that literally change every day. A radical view of this week's world. Curated contemporary shock with an accessible twist to it.

Had kedgeree for supper. Did a lot of washing. Felt tired and a little blue at the end of it all. Took me fifteen shots to get this self portrait. Maybe the fact that I was eating my glasses just before the shot symbolises the fact that I am chewing over my perception of reality.

Or maybe I should just have gone to Specsavers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.