Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Order and disorder

I think some people only realised this morning that the NHS as we know it is in its last week. So today was about everyone panicking. I had a whole day of it. Remarkable really; collective neurosis.

By contrast this evening we had the annual Passover ritual which I found both calming and funny. And a very nice meal and some good company.

Creation is full of contradictions. Everything is constantly in change and flux; even the atoms that make up our bodies are always vibrating, the cells that give us shape moving, the images of our conscious and subconscious selves unceasing.

And yet there is calm, order, and contemplation too. Places where quiet reflection and peace are possible. This is the Seder plate, a centrepiece of the Passover meal. Order from a history of chaos.

And you don't have to be Jewish to get it. I'm not and I do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.