Oak leaves

Looking for a blip I saw this concerning collection of oak leaves in Mote Park. Sooty, fungal like deposits have turned many leaves a much lighter green while in the background the leaves are a much healthier dark green.

I noticed too that in the centre of this collection are the buds of next year’s leaves.

Today was really more relaxed than my tongue in cheek comment on my “relaxed” day on Saturday. Admittedly, I did a Joe Wicks session first thing, easing those still protesting quads and a walk in the afternoon.

Between those times I was out to lunch with my long-standing friend from school days, over 55 years ago. The kitchen of the first pub we called at was closed today. Plan B worked and we had a very good lunch at the Early Bird.

John had some significant news to impart. After over 45 years in Kent they’re moving to be near their two sons in the South West. Their house is on the market, a house near Andover identified. That’ll be a change for them and for me.

He was also telling me that one son, who is a captain in the parachute regiment was in Kabul at the time of the evacuation. A tough time for everyone concerned. They were not expecting either of their two sons to be back in Afghanistan after several tours of duty there during the occupation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.