Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Congaree River Bridge

I went over to son Brett’s house today to give it a good cleaning. He is in the running for 2nd place as worlds worst house slob! He had clothes falling out of the dryer..pants, shirts, towels and a dog blanket. Have mercy! I calmly gave him a reminder that he needed to separate laundry. And sweep the hardwood floors and vacuum the area rug. It took me 4 hours to get up the dog hair, clean bathrooms and the kitchen and the table was the tool depository. So he agreed I would come over to give the house a good clean once a month. He has been in this house since May and I have only cleaned it once besides today. He said the dogs like the dirt! Where did I go wrong with his housekeeping skills?

To calm my irritation with him I stopped at the Riverwalk to take a short walk. It was warm but cloudy so I did not get too hot. This is the main bridge into downtown Columbia. You can see the dome of our state capital building in the center of the photo. The Gervais Street bridge was completed in 1928 and is on the National Register of Historical Places. The first bridge over the river was burned during the Civil War by the Confederate Army to keep Sherman’s troops from getting into Columbia. (That did not work.). The second bridge being completed in 1870 which stood until this was built. Until 1953, this was the only bridge over the Congaree River into Columbia.

The walk helped.

This is the 400th mono Monday week. So glad that this challenge is here since it is a great reminder to see your subject differently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.