Heritage Walk

The rain was pouring down this morning as Corinthian and I made our way to the starting point for a Heritage Walk led by local resident S for the Bingley Walkers are Welcome group. A very interesting walk around the estate, and although my husband’s family was brought up on the estate, and I have lived in the village for 50 years, I found out lots of things I never knew about the place. A collage from the morning.The old pump house (not an ice house as many assume); the back of one of the old orangeries (old ovens can be seen in the walls); what we as youngsters always thought was a stone coffin, but actually was used to store fish caught in the pond; Coppice Pond where there used to be a boathouse in an inlet; an old  archway through to the now STRI research ground (the family made pathways to keep the staff separate from the family and house!); the old barn which used to house a waterwheel; a Ha Ha (or Haw Haw) above which there used to be tennis courts; and the sluice gate at the end of Coppice Pond.  Fascinating to hear how water was brought around the estate, and how heating ran through the walls etc.  I also found out things about my husband’s family connections which I hadn’t known.  Luckily part way round the rain stopped and the sun came out and it turned into a lovely day.  Great way to spend a few hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.