Memories

We are in the middle of a big house clean as we are going on holiday and our neighbours/friends are moving in to look after the animals whilst their house is being rewired throughout - a plan that works for all of us!

As part of the clean I thought I would take out all my collected stoneware because another aspect of this holiday is that we will be revisiting a beautiful place we haven't been back to in over forty years.

In 1979, the year before we married, Tony was working a season as an instructor at the Outward Bound Centre near Fort William.  I travelled up to see him for his last week and then we set off on a fabulous holiday camping around the north west coast of Scotland.  Whilst in Fort William we spotted some pottery we both liked in a shop window and treated ourselves to the two mugs in the foreground of my blip.  

Since then, our Scottish holiday treat has been to seek out a piece for our collection.  Several of the pieces hold special memories.  The lampshade was purchased when Becky was at Edinburgh University.  My treasured 'Mum' mug, used every day, was given to me by Jenny on a birthday.  The Edinburgh Quaich was a present from friends for organising a weekend in the city and the large vase marks our 40th Wedding Anniversary last year.  One of the stands was given to me by a friend when we dropped in to see them near Oban last month after several years.  She had remembered that I liked them.

Watch this space for new additions to the collection after the coming holiday.  The factory is close to where we are staying, it would be foolish not to pop in and create some new memories......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.