Shop on the rocks

We stayed in this morning, catching up with reading and writing. I brought several books with me as well as my Kindle. I've just finished a very moving e-book entitled 'Hiroshima Maidens', the story of 24 young women who were very badly damaged by the atom bomb in 1945. In 1954 they were taken for plastic surgery in the USA - https://www.rodneybarkerauthor.com/hiroshima-maidens

After lunch we decided that the gloomy weather wasn't going to lift so we thought we'd visit The Crofter's Kitchen, aka Rosie's, to buy eggs and bread and whatever other goodies were available. As soon as we walked out of the door the drizzle began, but we set off anyway, in the car I hasten to add! It's several miles away down narrow lanes and tracks not far from the seaside settlement of Kintra - see first extra - on the Ross of Mull. As my Blip shows, it's not the normal approach to your average shop! We arrived to find that they were out of eggs and bread, but we carried on down to Kintra and had a walk on the rocks. The whole shoreline on this part of Mull is pink granite and I was surprised to find a lot of juniper growing among the boulders. Over the water can be seen the white sandy beaches of Iona and in my second extra you can see the faint outline of the island of Staffa on the horizon.

On the way out we passed a field of giant pigs and were pleased to see a hen harrier fly overhead. All happening here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.