Capital adventures

By marchmont

Happy Mid Autumn Moon Festival

I was sent a video of the girls doing a moon dance on their balcony and later a photo of them outside with their lanterns (extra) so I really had to get up at 2am to catch the Harvest Moon here. Unfortunately no moon cakes.

Another lovely autumn day, relatively warm. Given all the faff about rising energy costs I'm glad it's still warm enough NOT to have the heating on.

The back is better than yesterday but still the odd twinge. I gave in this afternoon and planted bulbs. What I've learned today - mice, like squirrels, like crocuses(croci?) But not daffodils or tulips. The crocus bulbs had been reduced to dust. Ah well made the bulb planting easier but Willow missed a trick there.

I sat in the seat at the front, me on one side, Willow on the other, very companionable. However, sorting out Mum's companionship visits is proving a bit if a mare. It used to be so easy.

I'm resurrecting my awayday jaunts. I've booked for Hopetoun House on Saturday and I'm still hoping to get to Abbotsford via train next month. When I heard yesterday that the US was opening up my first thought, given my experience in Covid international travel, was NYC for Christmas! The second thought was, nope all that expense of travel insurance for the USA and I'm still hopeful Malaysia may be possible.

Finished the working day with a recruitment event for the College. Seemed to go well,on Zoom, of course.

The Brookmyre is finished. I guessed the main plot twist but it was well constructed. More blood and gore tonight with 'Silent Witness'. And that's Tuesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.