Sea Walls, Part Seven

I'm guessing from the signs that the artists are still working on this one.

Today was a gardening day that turned into making tomato sauce. It's a logical enough progression, at least if you're in my brain. What began as a little trimming moved closer and closer to the tomato beds and the fact that if I didnt harvest and process right now I would lose even more than I already have. A couple of the plants are spent, so I cut away all those dead brown leaves and stems while I was at it. Fifteen pounds of tomatoes translates to about four quarts of finished sauce. It's in the fridge. I'll finish the canning part tomorrow when I can see straight. Our garden helper got the big vegetable bed ready for planting, and I will put in broccoli, collards and kale tomorrow. I hope by then that this mini heatwave will be over and the new little starts won't fry in the afternoon sun. Right now it's amazingly foggy and chilly, after a day in the high 80s. Time to pack it in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.