Boulter’s Lock, Maidenhead

I was invited to a private cruise down the Thames this afternoon - a four hour trip from Maidenhead to Windsor and back. It was a small gathering of mostly family and a few friends (including me) as an alternative to a funeral for an elderly father. I was included because of strong connections to the family - the elderly man was the father of my dear friend who passed away in the spring of 2020.

The cruise was a very apt and meaningful way to remember this loved man. There was music and speeches, all very upbeat and full of history and memories. We also had a delicious catered buffet lunch with more music, as well as time to be on the top deck enjoying the view of the river and the mostly palatial homes that line the riverbank.

The cruise started near Boulter’s Lock. Even though Maidenhead is nearby, and I am there almost every week to attend church and visit friends, I have never visited this stretch of the river or been to the lock!  It is featured in a famous painting called ‘Boulter’s Lock, Sunday Afternoon’ by Edward John Gregory. At the end of the cruise and after saying goodbye, I walked up to the lock, watched some boats go through and wandered around Ray Mill Island, which is a great place to have a picnic, so I will have to return. It even has an aviary and a guinea pig enclosure!  I’d also like to walk along the river between Maidenhead and Windsor. An outing for another day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.