An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Change of leaf...

Those of you kind enough to still pop into my journal (even though I am so bad at returning the favour) may recall my excitement at the prospect of converting our garage to an art studio space where I can create to my heart's content thereby freeing up our dining space within the house.   You may also recall we've had one eye-watering quote of £35k for the job of converting the space you're havin' a laugh love! And despite two other contractors coming out at the same time, we are still waiting for the quotes.  We've been told materials are three times the cost pre-covid, waiting times for work to start are just as bad AND there's a shortage of building supplies.  Also that the plan to reinstall a loo in the garage could prove tricky for a number of reasons I won't bore you with.  My dreams of an art studio space seemed to be coming less and less likely as the weeks have gone on.  

Well I have an update...

Yesterday David put the cat among the pigeons re.the garage conversion, but in a good way :-)

On the way to the Botanic Gardens he asked me if I'd ever considered using our home office/study as my studio.  I said no, it hadn't even entered my head as it's the study and has a specific purpose.  If I'd thought for one second that was a possibility I would have jumped at it!  It's a great space, with great light, in a quiet corner of the house with a great view of the garden and a wc just across the hallway.  I also wouldn't have to go outside to get to it in the depth of winter.  What's not to like?  But as I say, it hadn't even entered my head as a possibility. 

He then went on to point out that we hardly use the room these days. The only time I go in there is to wrap Christmas pressies and since he retired, he only uses it a couple of times a month to file household paperwork and update household accounts.  He said he hadn't mentioned it to me sooner as he'd assumed I had my heart set on the garage conversion!  Talk about crossed wires!  lol

So, after further discussion this afternoon, and some measuring up, it would seem I will have my new art studio after all and for a tiny fraction of the cost of the garage conversion!

We already have a desk each in there, both large, so one will be my painting table and the other I will use to do all non-painting stuff, mainly putting mounts on paintings and framing, without fear of getting paint on them (I've mucked up so many mounts by getting paint on them because I'm currently so restricted in table space)   

We will move what will be my painting table in front of the window to make the best of the light, and move a storage cabinet to where my painting table was.  This will free up a whole corner for new storage to be fitted.  There's already built in shelving with a lower built in cabinet that will provide a perfect surface for storing all my paper and mounts and two deep shelves worth of storage at floor level and just above.  We will also lift the carpet and replace it with more practical flooring.  There's also lots of wall space for me to hang paintings like a little gallery.  It's absolutely perfect and I have no idea why it's taken so long for the penny to drop!

The outbuilding will be getting its new roof and basic refurb inside in the next couple of weeks so once that's done we can move the stuff from the garage we need to keep, to there.  We will then have an empty and very tidy garage that we can store the large equipment that Alan only needs  occasionally (manual hoist, manual wheelchair, sit to stand chair) thereby freeing up a load of storage space in the house!  We might also get both cars back in it over the winter.  

It's a win/ win!  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.