THIS NEARLY WAS…

Abstract Thursday!  I can almost hear you asking, “What is she talking about - this doesn’t look anything like an abstract!”  And you would be quite right.

The story is that Mr. HCB came home last night from cricket, feeling rather deflated as the four day cricket match was over in two days, which meant that he and his cricket buddy, Keith, wouldn’t be able to walk down to a little bakery, just down the road from the cricket ground, to buy their usual “end of cricket season” pasty.  However, their team, Gloucestershire County Cricket Club won the match by seven wickets - so an excellent win, according to Mr. HCB, which cheered them both up.

That meant that he was free today and tomorrow, so I casually mentioned that he could come to Waitrose with me to do the shopping - which made him grimace.  Anyway, he thought about it overnight and said that he felt it was rather mean not to do something with me today, so off we went - but there was a bonus.  He said he would treat me to a coffee at the Hall & Woodhouse pub, just across the road from Waitrose.  

On the way across the bridge over the canal - the renovated Wilts and Berks Canal - I took a few shots of him walking in front of me and thought that if nothing else came up, I could use those as an abstract for today.

However, once inside Hall & Woodhouse, we were warmly greeted by not one, but three young ladies - one who told us what we needed to do to order, another who was the barista and this gorgeous young lady, who served us.

When I went up to the till to order our coffee, I saw that they also did sourdough toast with butter and strawberry jam, so ordered that as well - which tempted Mr. HCB too.  I was mesmerised by this young lady’s eyes and her beautiful smile - and told her how wonderful she looked, in fact, it quite put me off my stroke!  I then quickly thought that Mr. HCB would be delighted if I used someone else for my Blip - and asked if she would mind if I took a photograph.  She said that was fine, so I explained about Blip - as I always do - and she said again, that it was perfectly all right for me to put the shot on here.  She also said that had she known she was going to be photographed, she would have put more glitter on!  I found out her name was Abi and both Mr. HCB and I were amazed to hear that she had three children under 9 and would be celebrating her 30th birthday next year!  I don’t think I ever looked that good after having two children, let alone three!  

I gave her one of my cards, with my Blip details on the back, so as we left, she said that she would look and see what I said about her!  She was truly lovely and it was a pleasure to be served by her, which I told her, of course and I also told the young lady who made our coffee what a great job she had done.  All in all a lovely morning and we all thrive on encouragement.

Then it was over to Waitrose and shopping done, we went to collect my prescription from the pharmacy, only to be told that it wasn’t in stock, so I would have to go back - but even that didn’t spoil our morning as I had had a lovely conversation with a man in the queue as I waited to go in.  

I think if the lockdowns have taught me anything, it is that I need to be patient and enjoy being “in the moment” - life gets no better if we “zoom” through it - pardon the pun - and we miss so much on the way if that’s what we do.

Having seen many derogatory comments on our local Facebook page yesterday about doctors’ surgeries, I took a box of biscuits into ours, as it is quite near the pharmacy, to thank them for all they have done during the lockdowns and continue to do for our benefit - Sue, the lady I spoke to was delighted with the biscuits and said that it was good to be appreciated.

So thank you Abi and everyone else at H & W - and Sue at our doctors’ surgery - your smiles and kind words made our day.  

A gentle word, a kind look, 
     a good-natured smile 
          can work wonders 
               and accomplish miracles.”
William Hazlitt


P.S.  Thank you for all your kind comments for yesterday’s blip - my hand feels easier today - probably because I haven’t done as much typing!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.