Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Hiking in Châteaux d'Oex

My daughter took this week off from work and asked me of I wanted to join her on a hike along a river called la Sarine in Châteaux d'Oex. The area is very beautiful so I was up for a hike if the terrain wasn't too difficult. There were just two difficult parts, one going up (with a sheer drop on one side) but ropes to hang onto on the other side!  The steep part coming down was rather more tricky with tree roots and slippery parts. I wish I'd taken my walking poles with me!

We crossed a very old suspended bridge (built in 1883) which wobbled as we walked and the rapids were below us!  We passed some refreshing falls and the whole hike took us two and a half hours!

The main shot was taken just after we'd crossed the bridge and were walking back up to the village.

The weather was perfect - no jackets needed! We did 16.400 steps which is 11.5 km! I shall sleep very well tonight!

Extras:
- part of the road back was on a small country road with a view on the mountains
- My daughter on the wobbly suspended bridge
- The falls, called 'Cascade de Ramaclé

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.