Fascination

 I'm not sure what's up with my current fascination with Flies. Maybe it's the challenge of getting acceptable photos of them, or perhaps it's that they're beautiful (in their own 'fly-way' of course) little creatures. I find that I appreciate them much more up close than when they're just flying around something 'nasty'. So, all that being said...these two were enjoying the sun on some Penta leaves. That's another thing I like about them,  they hang around on the sunlit parts of plants which makes them much easier to photograph. Since I shoot hand-held and mostly with existing light, that's no doubt part of their attraction. The handsome Fly on the left is a FleshFly and the very colorful one is a Common Green Bottle Fly. I'm just sure that it would make your day if I explained why they're named thus...so I won't. They have a life-span of 15-21 days. 
Why do flies rub their 'hands' together? It may sound a bit counter-intuitive but flies rub their limbs together to clean them! And now you know! ;)
A Good Weekend to All! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.