The Stash and NoseWork

As long as we've had our LittleDog, Maica (almost twelve years now) I've never seen her actually reach into the 'ToyBasket' to retrieve a favorite. She waits for her sister or brother to take the toy out, play with or chew on it for a while then when they lose interest Maica grabs it and runs under my bed or in my closet with it. This morning I noticed her staring at the basket full of fun things for dogs, but she didn't make any move to retrieve one. 
Do take a look at the *extra...Fletcher (and I) have been taking 'Nose Work' classes. He's learning to search out objects with different scents on them. This one is Birch. The scents are ones not typically found in our local environment. Nose Work is a competitive timed sport, but we're just beginners, so there's no pressure. In the photo Fletch has 'found' the scent and was rewarded with the treat on top of it. I then gave him an additional reward treat for a job well done! We practice at home as well, he loves hunting for the objects! It's great exercise for both his body and his brain.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.