River Spey

Tony and I went our separate ways today, not permanently of course!  He had planned to revisit a couple of Munros accessed from the village but the weather was set to deteriorate in the afternoon.  He finished his final Munros not long after he retired.  His change of plan took in a Corbett, Carn an Fhreiceadain, north of Kingussie.  

My knees don't like too much descending these days, even with poles, and are still crunchy after last weekend's tough orienteering so I opted to complete the Wildcat Trail instead.  This section took me alongside the River Spey and then on to the Calder.  It wasn't as scenic as yesterday's high walk and didn't follow as close to the river as I would have liked, so this blip was taken on a bit of a detour.  Still it was good to be out and the alternating blue skies and scudding clouds made for some great light.

Once back in the village I had lunch at the Wild Flour Cafe, thank you to WilsdenWalker's son J for the recommendation.  The Thai cauliflower soup with warm cheese scone was yummy.

No sign of the red squirrels today as yet and the chaffinches are eating the seed I have put out.  There was a white throated/headed visitor a while back but it didn't stay around long enough for me to photograph it, it was certainly a new one to me so I'm hoping it will return.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.