If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Nuthatch ( Sitta europaea )

Back to my constant interest in birds.  A combination of my taking part in the British trust for Ornithology's (BTO) Garden Birdwatch and the feeders means I spend a lot of time just looking out into the garden.  For those who have never heard of the BTO garden birdwatch it is a form of citizen science.  You watch birds in your garden in whatever way you normally do. During the week you list the species you have seen and the maximum number using the garden.  They must be using the garden so the Heron flying over doesn't count but the pigeon on the roof does, it is using the roof as a perch.

One of the species I am always delighted to see is the Nuthatch.  Delighted because it is a bird I didn't see growing up.   However over the last few decades their range has increased and the can now be found well into Scotland.

Although they are in the area and breed a mere couple of hundred yards away we get only the occasional visit.  So being able to blip this male was pleasing for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.