If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Fuchsia

Saturday!  The day I always manage to find a blip on my walk to the bins from the Lodge.  Today out of interest I counted steps - 167!  It amazes me that every week, well almost every week, I manage to find a blip in that short walk.

I pass three other Lodges in that walk and the Fuchsia in the middle one caught my eye.  Lots of flowers and colour, just right to brighten up an autumn day.  

This one at a guess and it is only a guess could be the the variety Mrs Popple.  Interestingly unlike many plants Fuchsia isn't named after its discoverer.  A monk/botanist called Charles Plumier discovered the plant in what was then Hispaniola (Haiti and the Dominican Republic) in the 17th Century, he named it after the 16th century German Botanist Leonard Fuchs

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.